See the Hidden

LIVE ONLINE WORKSHOP

Translational Cancer Research

Thursday 28th October 2021
LONDON 10:00 - 15:00 | BERLIN 11:00 - 16:00 | DUBAI 13:00 - 18:00

Understanding cancer biology has become increasingly dependent on imaging. High-resolution imaging is vital for studying genetic and cell signaling changes that underlie cancer, whereas live-cell imaging is crucial for a deeper understanding of disease mechanisms. Microscopy techniques are also essential for the study of spatial relationships between different types of tumor cells. They are also critical to understanding the immune system's role in combating cancerous cells. For the latter, researchers rely on multiplexing imaging solutions for a faster rate of discovery.

Leica Microsystems and Microscopy Focus are pleased to host our 3rd See the Hidden Online Workshop, this time focused on Translational Cancer Research. The workshop is centered on scientific sessions covering a broad range of first-hand applications of our workflows, encompassing sample preparation, multiplexing, imaging, and analysis. In addition, participants will have the opportunity to join instrument demonstrations and Q&A discussions.

This is an excellent opportunity to hear from leading researchers and industry experts, to learn about the innovative imaging systems and workflows that are available in order to address the critical challenge of tumor heterogeneity, to gain a deeper understanding of the mechanisms of cancer development, and translate these discoveries into information that can be used to advance therapeutics.

AGENDA

Each presentation will be followed by a Q&A session and technical demonstration from a member of the Leica Microsystems team.

WELCOME

10:00 BST | 11:00 CET

Welcome & Overview
Dr Falco Krueger

Falco-web

Falco Krueger

Leica Microsystems

SESSION 1: SAMPLE PREPARATION FOR TRANSLATIONAL RESEARCH

10:10 BST | 11:10 CET

Tumor cell heterogeneity and its transcriptional bases in pancreatic cancer
Dr Giuseppe Riccardo Diaferia

LMD Application Showcase
Dr Mauro Baron
Dr Christoph Greb
Dr Falk Schlaudraff

Giuseppe Diaferia_Photo-sq

Dr Giuseppe Riccardo Diaferia

IEO Research
mauro

Dr Mauro Baron

Leica Microsystems

SESSION 2: MULTIPLEXING AND CANCER TISSUE ANALYSIS

11:00 BST | 12:00 CET

Single-cell phenotyping and spatial analysis of cancer and immune cells with quantitative protein multiplex imaging
Dr Alison Cheung

CellDIVE Application Showcase
Dr David Pointu

ACpic1 (1)

Dr Alison Cheung

Schwartz Reisman Institute
RXDVoboy

Dr David Pointu

Leica Microsystems

LUNCH

12:00 BST | 13:00 CET

SESSION 3: CONFOCAL IMAGING IN TRANSLATIONAL CANCER RESEARCH

13:00 BST | 14:00 CET

When genome stability is bad for you: How resolution of R-loops promotes DNA replication and maintains cancer cell proliferation
Dr Manolis Papamichos Chronakis

THE STELLARIS WORKFLOW Application Showcase
Mr Paul McCormick

 

Papamichos picture

Dr Manolis Papamichos Chronakis

University of Liverpool
paulmc

Mr Paul McCormick

Leica Microsystems

SESSION 4: THE APPLICATIONS OF CORRELATIVE MICROSCOPY

13:45 BST | 14:45 CET

NANO WORKFLOW Application Showcase
Dr Jan de Bock

csm_De_Bock_Jan_f215300506

Dr Jan de Bock

Leica Microsystems

SESSION 5: PANEL DISCUSSION

14:15 BST | 15:15 CET

Dr Falco Krueger moderates a panel discussion with todays speakers.
Dr Giuseppe Riccardo Diaferia
Dr Mauro Baron
Dr Alison Cheung
Dr David Pointu
Dr Manolis Papamichos Chronakis
Mr Paul McCormick
Dr Jan de Bock

Register to attend

bitesize-bio-logo