See the Hidden: Cancer Research

LIVE Online Workshop
Imperial College London Edition

Thursday 27th January 2022
09:30 - 15:00 London | 10:30 - 16:00 Berlin | 13:30 - 19:00 Dubai

Leica Microsystems is pleased to welcome you to the 4th virtual edition of our popular See the Hidden Workshop Series hosted by Microscopy Focus, which will explore the next generation of methodologies, techniques, and workflows that are helping to accelerate cancer research.

In partnership with Imperial College and the Imperial College Network of Excellence in Cancer Technology, this joint event will showcase how a multidisciplinary research approach is creating innovative new ideas for the detection, prevention, and ultimately the treatment of cancer.

Through a series of scientific talks, Professor Chris Bakal, Dr. Vania Braga, and Dr. Periklis Pantazis from ICL will present their cutting-edge research and discuss how specialized microscopy techniques are contributing to their findings. We’ll also take a closer look at the microscopy workflows used, with relevant product demonstrations in real-time.

The program will focus on two exciting areas of microscopy—high-resolution optical imaging and artificial intelligence (AI)-powered image analysis.

Join us to put your questions to these leading researchers and our team of experts and get involved in the discussions.

AGENDA

Registrants will receive the full agenda, including detailed timings for each presentation, full abstracts, and speaker bios prior to the event.

Each presentation will be followed by a live, interactive Q&A session.

WELCOME

09:30 GMT | 10:30 CET

Welcome & Overview
Dr Abdullah Ahmed
Mr Paul McCormick
Dr Periklis Pantazis

SESSION 1: ADVANCED IMAGING TECHNOLOGIES FOR CANCER CELL AND TISSUE STRUCTURAL ANALYSIS

09:50 GMT | 10:50 CET

AI-driven interrogation of signalling pathways underpinning cell detachment during oncogenic transformation
Dr Vania Braga

10:30 GMT | 11:30 CET

Leica THUNDER Imaging Systems: Analysing 3D specimens with widefield microscopy
Dr Abdullah Ahmed

Vania Braga - web

Dr Vania Braga

Imperial College London
Abdullah Ahmed - web

Dr Abdullah Ahmed

Leica Microsystems

LUNCH BREAK

11:10 GMT | 12:10 CET

SESSION 2: INNOVATIVE APPROACHES TO TARGETTING AND TRACING CANCER CELLS USING HIGH-RESOLUTION OPTCAL IMAGING

12:10 GMT | 13:10 CET

Biodegradable harmonophores for targeted high-resolution in vivo tumour imaging
Dr Periklis Pantazis

12:50 GMT | 13:50 CET

Get closer to the truth with the STELLARIS Confocal Microscope Platform
Mr Paul McCormick

Periklis Pantazis - web

Dr Periklis Pantazis

Imperial College London
paulmc

Mr Paul McCormick

Leica Microsystems

AFTERNOON BREAK

13:30 GMT | 14:30 CET

SESSION 3: AI-POWERED IMAGE ANALYSIS INNOVATIONS TO ADVANCE THE UNDERSTANDING OF CANCER BIOLOGY

13:40 GMT | 14:40 CET

What the shape of our cells says about our health and disease: Using AI-powered single cell morphology analysis to describe the states of cancer
Professor Chris Bakal

14:20 GMT | 15:20 CET

Aivia: The future of AI microscopy
Dr Patrice Mascalchi

Chris Bakal - web

Professor Chris Bakal

Imperial College London
Dr. Patrice Mascalchi, PhD, EMEA Sales & Application specialist, Aivia.

Dr Patrice Mascalchi

Leica Microsystems

Following closing remarks the workshop will conclude at 15:00 GMT | 16:00 CET.

Banner image: Magma bioharmonophores

“Spherism” rendition of triphenylalanine bioharmonophores captured by TEM. The cores of the probes feature an artistic representation of their molecular components, triphenylalanine molecules.

Courtesy of Mr. Konstantinos Kalyviotis, Research Postgraduate in Periklis Pantazis’ group at ICL.

Register to attend

bitesize-bio-logo